RIP Coach Knight

I met (interviewed) him once. He was cordial. He wasn’t entirely interested in discussing basketball, but he went overtime talking about fishing and hunting, which I knew (still) very little about.

The video below is moving (to some).

Click on the link below or your liver will throw a chair across your great room.

1 Like

The real question is if he follows through with his threat to be buried upside down so his critics can kiss his ass?

3 Likes

Loved the YouTube video of The General attempting to hit his golf ball out of a sand trap…classic Knight.

I saw him when he brought his Indiana team to Millett in the late 80s when I was a student. We showed up 2-3 hours before tip just to get the best seats. All of the students were giving him the business about throwing chairs and all that jazz, but he just kind of coolly ignored it and just coached the game. He had a larger than life presence.

3 Likes

His team kicked our arse in the 90’s. But hey, that’s how it goes. We got Joaby from IU and that set in motion a pretty great run. Thanks, Bob! Ps, I have an awesome old commercial I’m gonna post. Hold….

Edit: I found it. And for all you who didn’t laugh at my trip down memory lane in another thread, well here’s an ad from a more elegant time when ads were you know…good. You’re welcome!

2 Likes

Ron Harper ( soph) and 4 Senior starters (John Willoughby, Chuck Stahl, and a forward and a center that slip my mind tonight) beat him at IU. That game was kind of a coming out party for Harper as far as National attention.

2 Likes

“Just say no! Just say no!”

Yep, definitely was there 2+ hours early for that one.

1 Like

John Marx and Chuck Dahn? Miami 63-IU 57

1 Like

Yep, Marx and Dahn.

Dick it was likely John Marx at center. Could have been Chuck Dahn or Stephen Suddarth at forward. Ron Hunter and Eric Newsome would have played as well. Game was 11/26/83. I was a freshman in 1983.

1 Like