Golf Anyone? MHT Golf Partner Finder

Golf anyone? Looking for a partner (golf, that is) to play a round with? Let’s do it!

Why can’t we have a thread that matches you up with a golfer in your area…When you are looking to play on short notice?

Here’s my story:

I have been a lifelong tennis player (competitively in USTA, tournaments, etc…). I drastically cut back playing about seven years ago. Then I retired in January. Well…90% retired. I still manage the websites.

I started playing golf last year. I sucked. But I’m getting better. I started with an 87 last July (9 holes in Deep Creek, MD), and lowered my score to 65 by the end of the summer (Yankee Trace in Centerville).

Last week I had a 51 and 57 at Community Golf Course (Kettering), which was my best round (ever). I’m erratic, unpredictable, but getting better. In fairness, Community doesn’t have very many hazards.

I would love to play 9 holes (maybe 18 on occasion) 2-3 times per week. I play once per week with my steady golf partner. Ironically, we both retired from the same line of work and started golf at the same time.

So how about Thursday? Anyone?

5 Likes

Nice idea and I think it’s great that you’ve decided to pick up the game. Unfortunately, with two little ones, my golfing days are few and far between right now. I was able to sneak away for a guys trip down to Alabama last weekend to play a few courses on the Robert Trent Jones Trail. I would recommend it for anyone looking for a golf getaway.

2 Likes

Eddie, so proud of you for taking up golf! I would say you’ve done very well in a short period of time to improve your game like that. Shooting 65 at Yankee Trace as a beginner is pretty impressive in my book. Once I retire, and hopefully it won’t be too long, God willing, I would love to play with you since we are close. Maybe even Heatherwoode?